2017 Home Run Derby: Live updates, results, bracket, participants, TV channel

2017 MLB All-Star Game-Giancarlo Stanton

The 2017 Home Run Derby will take place on Monday, July 10, at Marlins Park in Miami. The event is set for 8 p.m. ET and will be televised on ESPN.

The annual event is a part of the three-day schedule of events for the 2017 MLB All-Star Game. The exhibition game featuring stars from the National League and American League will air live Tuesday, July 11, at 8 p.m. ET on FOX.

Miami Marlins star Giancarlo Stanton will look to defend his Home Run Derby title in front of his home fans at Marlins Park. Stanton won the 2016 MLB Home Run Derby at San Diego’s Petco Park last season. He defeated Chicago White Sox third baseman Todd Frazier, who won the event in 2015 at Great American Ballpark in Cincinnati, by a score of 20-13.

Here’s a look at everything you need to know for the 2017 Home Run Derby:

2017 Home Run Derby Results

Round 1

Miguel Sano (11) defeats Mike Moustakas (10)

Gary Sanchez (17) defeats Giancarlo Stanton (16)

Cody Bellinger (15) defeats Charlie Blackmon (14)

Aaron Judge (23) defeats Justin Bour (22)

Round 2

Miguel Sano (12) defeats Gary Sanchez (11)

Aaron Judge (13) defeats Cody Bellinger (12)

Championship Round

Aaron Judge (11) defeats Miguel Sano (10)

When is the 2017 Home Run Derby?

Monday, July 10, at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN.

Who is participating in the 2017 Home Run Derby?

American League

Miguel Sano, 3B, Minnesota Twins
Gary Sanchez, C, New York Yankees
Aaron Judge, OF, New York Yankees
Mike Moustakas, 3B, Kansas City Royals

National League

Giancarlo Stanton, OF, Miami Marlins
Cody Bellinger, 1B/OF, Los Angeles Dodgers
Justin Bour, 1B, Miami Marlins
Charlie Blackmon, OF, Colorado Rockies

2017 Home Run Derby Bracket

How were the 2017 Home Run Derby seeds determined?

Giancarlo Stanton was given the No. 1 seed because he won the event in 2016. According to’s Anthony Castrovince, seeds were then determined by 2017 home run totals entering play on Wednesday, July 5. Home run totals since June 15 were used as tiebreakers where appropriate.

2017 Home Run Derby live updates

2017 Home Run Derby rules and format

An explanation of the 2017 Home Run Derby format via Anthony Castrovince of

It’s a single-elimination bracket system with three rounds total. In each bracket, the higher seed hits second. In the first round, Stanton faces Sanchez, Judge faces Bour, Bellinger faces Blackmon and Moustakas faces Sano.

Batters will have four minutes per round. The clock starts with the release of the first pitch. Interestingly, when the new format was created in 2015, batters were supposed to have five minutes per round. With rain in the forecast in Cincinnati that night, the decision was made to shorten the rounds to four minutes. The event went so well that MLB opted to keep the four-minute rounds in effect.

It should be noted that once the second player in a given round exceeds the home run total of his opponent, the round ends. There is no need for a player to add to his tally.

Past Home Run Derby winners

List of past content winners via

2016 Giancarlo Stanton
2015 Todd Frazier
2014 Yoenis Cespedes
2013 Yoenis Cespedes
2012 Prince Fielder
2011 Robinson Cano
2010 David Ortiz
2009 Prince Fielder
2008 Justin Morneau
2007 Vladimir Guerrero
2006 Ryan Howard
2005 Bobby Abreu
2004 Miguel Tejada
2003 Garret Anderson
2002 Jason Giambi
2001 Luis Gonzalez
2000 Sammy Sosa
1999 Ken Griffey, Jr.
1998 Ken Griffey, Jr.
1997 Tino Martinez
1996 Barry Bonds
1995 Frank Thomas
1994 Ken Griffey, Jr.
1993 Juan Gonzalez
1992 Mark McGwire
1991 Cal Ripken, Jr.
1990 Ryne Sandberg
1989 Eric Davis; Ruben Sierra
1988 Canceled because of rain
1987 Andre Dawson
1986 Darryl Strawberry; Wally Joyner
1985 Dave Parker


The post 2017 Home Run Derby: Live updates, results, bracket, participants, TV channel appeared first on SEC Country.

Connor Riley – SEC Country

Leave a Reply